Goodnight, Moon

So.

This is probably my last post on Blogbytom.

The fact of the matter is, I’ve grown a bit tired of sharing my life with you.  There’s always been, for me, a gnawing sense of self-indulgence about the whole Blogbytom project:  I’ve never been entirely comfortable with asserting through the blog–by its very existence–that my observations are worth taking seriously.  They aren’t.  I’m a rather pedestrian critic of my own life, my own biases, and my own inclinations.  And I’m not particularly interesting.  I wrote here because I sometimes felt the need to scream out to the world, if only to hear the sound of my own voice, to prove to myself that I was still alive.  But I’m over it.  I don’t want to settle for that anymore.  And I’m ready to move on.

To whomever has read this myopic journal in the past, and particularly to those who took the time to comment:  I thank you.  You kept me going, and you helped keep me sane.

To those who didn’t read, and didn’t comment:  Go fuck your collective selves.  You were made for each other.

I’m currently in the process of creating a new group blog, one that will be updated daily (!)–an experiment in long-form proto-journalism and pithy one-liners.  It will be anything but self-involved.  It will instead be your go-to guide to understanding the world around you in a brave new Internet age.  It will feature writers I like reading, friends, Romans, and countrymen; and above all, it will be good.  It will certainly be better than this.

(I’ll post one more link directing future Blogbytom traffic to this mysterious new group blog when it’s debuted.)

One more thing.

I apologize too much.  I’m not going to apologize for this.  Especially since I might prove to be full of shit, as I so often am, and come running back to you with flowers and mea culpas.  Instead, I’ll just say Goodbye.  Farewell.  So Long.

And thanks for keeping me company.

8 responses to “Goodnight, Moon

  1. you’re leaving? WHAT?

  2. So, I was wondering why I hadn’t seen a posting in a while-maybe you had dropped into another hole? Well, now we know! It will be interesting to see what new direction you take; I think I’ll like, ‘friends, Romans & countrymen’ (all of which I am) or maybe like you said, you’ll-be-back, with no apologies needed!

  3. You’re not boring. If anything I would call you manic. Lol!

  4. Good luck with your new venture. Keep writing! Practice, practice, practice.

  5. Go go Tommy! I’m the huge fan who never comments. But I do enjoy fucking myself. Don’t forget to visit me if you’re ever on my side of the pond.

  6. I didn’t realize you were closing this door when you opened that new window. Are you going to defenestrate yourself?

  7. Dear Tom. Thank you. You made me travel. You made me think, and laugh. You made me take a break, stop for a minute and reconsider. You made me check this goddamn blog every 48 hours hoping for a new post. You’ve been entertaining and interesting. You even made me cry. A bientot. Ton ami. Eric

Leave a Reply

