India Blogging: An Introduction

New theme:  Insensitivity!

At the travel doctor’s clinic yesterday, the nurse giving me the vaccine (I only got the typhoid shot, as I have to go to my primary care doctor for the rest, minus Japanese encephalitis and rabies, which I’m apparently too late to get) says, “So, where are you going?”

I say, “India.”

She says, “How long?”

I say, “Two and a half months.”

She says, “That should be fun,” and drops the needle in my lap.

I say, “Yeah, something like that,” and hand it back to her.

She says, “Don’t worry, that part doesn’t need to be sterile anymore.”

I say, “It’s fine.”

She regains composure, says, “Well, at least you’re not going to Haiti.”

She: smirks, giggles.  Jams needle in my arm.

I am: gawk-eyed.  Slack-jawed.  Dumbstruck.

Moral of the story?

“Too soon, travel doctor nurse!  Way too motherfucking soon!”

That is all.

3 responses to “India Blogging: An Introduction

  1. Brief piece of advice: Don’t fall asleep in any Indian train stations. A friend of Kel’s just got back from some world travels and told us that his girlfriend was bit by a rat in one because it thought she was dead. Fortunately, they apparently have doctors over there who specialize in animal bites, so…yeah. Drink coffee.

  2. That’s gross.

  3. Unemployed (almost) privileged white guy that is prone to whining about the circumstances of his life...

    Way gross.

Leave a Reply

