Signing Up For Taekwondo

I figured that if I was going to be spending a month or two in Boston before my departure for who knows where, I’d try to adopt a spirit of healthy living.  And I figured, too, that I wanted to go kick ass, because kicking ass is awesome.  So I signed up for Taekwondo.

The first thing I discovered when I got to the Taekwondo Dojo (Is it a “dojo” in Tae Kwon Do?  I don’t know.  I’ll have to ask.) was that there’s a strict no shoes policy.  This is nice, as I like to be without shoes.  And it was lucky, since I’d taken a shower immediately after work today.  So my feet didn’t stink.  Which made the whole thing possible.  Because, frankly, if my feet had stunk, I would’ve been self-conscious and bailed on the whole thing immediately.  As in, “Oh, Taekwondo master, you want me to walk into your pretty wife’s office with my stinky feet and fill out a registration form?  I think I left something in my car.  I’ll be right back.”

Of course, I would not have been right back at all.  That was the joke.

So my feet smelled like roses, and I filled out the registration form, and the taekwondo master’s pretty wife asked me why I only wanted to sign up for a month, and I said something like, “You know, stuffs and things and who knows where I’m going to be, and on and on.”  She smiled and nodded.  Probably thinking, “This kid’s a moonbat,” but I didn’t care.  She asked me to stand up so she could get an appraisal of my size for a uniform, came back and had me try one on.  I did so.  She said, “Too small!” and went and got another one.  It fit like a glove.  The kind of glove that fits.  And so we wrote my name in English and Korean on the collar, and now I’m officially a white belt, or whatever the fuck.

This is going to be awesome.

3 responses to “Signing Up For Taekwondo

  1. If you need Keith Lang or myself to give you any martial arts tips, just let us know because, like, we took two years of kung fu together in 3rd and 4th grade.

  2. ditto: i think i made it to blue belt? yellow belt? but that was karate. 4th grade is a really key time for kicking ass. but 1/4 life crisis is probably a good time for healthy living. whatevs – sitting on the fridge couch, we’re impressed and amused.

  3. Nice blog! Oh and just in case you don’t know yet, the Tae Kwon Do training qym is called a “dojang”. They should be teaching some Korean words over there, which is great. I’ve also been learning Tae Kwon Do for a year now and am really loving it.

Leave a Reply

