Robert Novak Is Dead

Or, “How I Learned to Stop Worrying And Love The Daily Dish’s Guest Bloggers.  But Then Didn’t.

Bob Novak was a dick.  He was also the mouthpiece the Bush administration used to out the undercover CIA agent Valerie Plame when her husband, Joe Wilson, wrote an op-ed that was critical of the administration’s justifications for the invasion of Iraq.

Conor Clarke, subbing for Sully:

So he was perhaps a bit of a jerk, but an admirably fatalistic one. The first thing he said to me was this: “I don’t watch my words very closely. I’m 76 years old, and I don’t have that much time on this earth. There’s very little people can do to hurt me, and so I say what I want to say.” And, to his credit or not, he did just that.

Well, which the fuck is it?  To his credit?  Or not?  Or is this one of those tricks they teach in Dish-Guest-Blogging-School, where you learn to ride the fence well enough that people mistake your lack of conviction for wisdom?

Conor starts well enough by acknowledging that Novak’s a guy who called his own memoir “The Prince Of Darkness,” and mentioning that he was a terribly unpleasant person to interview (I imagine he was).  But then, this “to his credit or not” business ends the piece, and sours the whole thing.

And the “admirably fatalistic” line doesn’t do much for me, either.

Look, it’s a free country (God Bless America!!!!!).  Say whatever you want to say and deal with the repercussions.  I admire, and try to emulate, people who say what they want to say and are…. right.  I don’t admire, or try to emulate, people who say what they want to say and are wrong.  Novak was wrong about a hell of a lot.  Conor indicated as much in much of the body of his piece.  It would’ve been nice if he’d concluded on as strong a note.

Whats so funny about peace, love, and outing CIA agents?

What's so funny about peace, love, and outing CIA agents?

Leave a Reply

