RIP Dan Froomkin…

You were the best thing the Post had going for it.  And I know, I know, you’re not dead.  But the Post is.  To me, at least.

You hear that, Post?  You’re dead to me.  Dead.  To.  Me.

Greenwald posted a great essay today on the Froomkin firing.  Read it.  And Discursor provides the appropriate emotional response:

That’s bullshit. Fucking bullshit.

Greenwald also linked to this article by Froomkin, which has got to be the single best distillation of the duty of journalists in a democracy I’ve ever seen put on paper.  Unfortunately, as one of the commenters on that article noted,

Anyone attempting to follow your lessons would be demoted or fired.

Sad, isn’t it? But this is the real world.

That’s one prescient commenter.  And this is one dismal real world.

Leave a comment